The last thing that someone expects when heading out for a night on the town with friends is to end it in police custody. However, sometimes social outings involving alcohol do lead to accusations that someone has violated North Carolina state law.
Some people get arrested for drunk driving, while others might get into altercations that lead to assault allegations. People tend to have more emotional reactions when under the influence of alcohol and to also become disinhibited, which means they may react more physically to minor conflicts.
Assault charges are usually classified as misdemeanor offenses
Someone does not have to cause permanent injury to someone else for the state to successfully bring assault charges under North Carolina law. Attempts to put someone in fear for their safety and intentionally injuring them can lead to misdemeanor charges, while attempts to cause severe bodily injury could lead to felony charges.
The penalties possible if someone please guilty or gets convicted include up to 60 days in jail and a $1,000 fine for a Class 2 misdemeanor charges. More serious charges could lead to Class C felony charges that lead to years in jail. Therefore, a rigorous defense is often in the best interests of those accused of violating a lot of prohibiting interpersonal violence in North Carolina.
There are many possible defenses when accused of assault
Someone facing allegations of assaulting another person could defend themselves in numerous ways. They might prove that there was a case of mistaken identity by showing that they weren’t the one involved in the fight. They could provide video footage or witness testimony that helps support their claim that they acted to defend themselves.
The circumstances that lead to an altercation and other factors, including the prior relationship between the parties involved, will influence the appropriate defense strategy for the situation. Looking into every defense option with the assistance of a legal professional will typically benefit those who have been accused of assault or other violent offenses in North Carolina.